PDA

View Full Version : Salt for bending

Stepside
09-17-2007, 11:42 AM
If I remember correctly Evan mentioned using salt to fill tubes when bending. If so what kind of salt and any other tecniques that are important. I am wanting to bend some thinwall brass tubing and keep the cross section as pure as possible.

BTW it is Evan's fault that I have this problem. I read about all the joys of "retirement" and watched him complete about a million large tasks in the shortest of time. So after 42 years in the classroom as a Machine shop/Drafting/CAD/CAM instructor I too retired. Where is all the "free time" to get my stuff done. The "honey Do" list looks like an encylopedia and the "lets do something" list is just as long. I envisioned quiet time in my shop building a set of street clock works followed by a beam type steam engine ect.

Actually a great big "Thank You Evan" as I now have time to do the "Honey Do's" as they should be done rather than "quick and dirty's" because of the length of a weekend and the demands of employment.

Forrest Addy
09-17-2007, 11:48 AM
Anything granular that can be packed tight will work for a bending medium. Makers of musical instruments use rosin for bending brass tube for trumpets etc. Melt out the rosin and they have a nice bend. Then they jig the bend and force steel balls through it to round it back up.

A.K. Boomer
09-17-2007, 12:24 PM
No expert here but do realize that this is most probably an "art" and could get extremely involved with size/compression/and shape of the material at use, for instance i would imagine salt and sand as two different things as the salt would more redidly give way to turning into a powder, could also imagine using H20 and sealing ends off before bending would give results anywhere from a broken tube to just what you wanted depending on what your trying to bend in the first place... round steel bee-bee's, lead shot, you get the idea, Now for Evan to post his already bookmarked website on the subject:p