PDA

View Full Version : Ot: Atv

ligito
09-21-2007, 09:14 PM
I'm looking at buying a new ATV. I'm looking at Suzuki Eiger 400 4x4 Auto and Yamaha Grizzly 400 4x4 Auto IRS.

Are either one good choices for a sedate old man?
I've never used 4x4 before but thought it might be helpful, if needed.
My current ATV is a 1985 Quadrunner 230GE.

speedsport
09-21-2007, 09:45 PM
6 of one, half dozen of the other. Personally, I am a Honda fan.

Dawai
09-21-2007, 09:53 PM
Polaris? don't they run slower and pull better?

With what they cost they should come with a mechanic to follow you around.
In the late 80s I had one of the Honda racer 2wds, I was playing with it the first day, then it did a wheelstand in a fresh plowed field, my feet hung up in the rack on the back, it continued for about another thirty feet with my head plowing the dirt draggin me.

I spent 3 days in bed. My back injury was at it's peak then and I had no business on that rascal.

I thought, gee I can slide my 1200cc around in the road, what's a 250 gonna do?

ligito
09-21-2007, 10:00 PM
You haven't lived until you've either rolled, or flipped an ATV.
Mine went over backwards once, on a steep hill, thankfully, I'm fat enough that it didn't hurt anything.

We ride fire roads and lately desert trails.
I just want to get something with more up to date features.

My riding parnter has an Arctic Cat 250 that I rode a couple of times and thought I would buy one but now I think I'll get a 4x4.

hitnmiss
09-21-2007, 10:32 PM
Love my Honda but I agree they all seem good these days.

andy_b
09-22-2007, 01:04 AM