PDA

View Full Version : Saw Coolant

pntrbl
10-08-2007, 11:59 PM
My Enco 7x12 showed up today and since this is the 1st bandsaw I've ever owned I'm probably gonna have about 18 questions ....

Coolant 1st. The manual say water-based but I'm not real fond of what I hear about that stuff. It's bio-degradable which to me sounds another way of saying it rots. Who needs rancid in the bottom of their saw? I've heard of daily pH checks to keep it from growing something. Tramp oil issues ... but I guess that wouldn't apply to a saw would it?

The other thing is being a painter I've made the transition to modern water based materials and they do not work as well as the old school oils and lacquers. This could be over reaction on my part ....:o

OTOH I've been running WD40 thru the mister on my lathe and liking that just fine. I'll break out something thick for threading and tapping but other than that I've been using WD on just about everything.

Is there any reason I can't run it in my new saw?

What would be better? And I'll run water based if I have to!

Thanx again guys.

SP

tattoomike68
10-09-2007, 01:22 AM
water based coolant does a good job and you will find that a saw loses allot and it will run dry before it gets stinky. In fact some shops I worked at used the stinky coolant in the saw when they changed the stuff out on the mills.

A glug of pine sol and the smell is neutralized , it kills germs and the odors they cause.

You can run wd-40 if you like , you might need to dam it up inside of any tubes you cut so you don't end up with a slick floor around the saw and hurt yourself packing metal around the saw. Safety would be the biggest issue IMHO.

oldtiffie
10-09-2007, 01:37 AM
Why not make a "suds" tray (as on many lathes) and install a "suds (recirculating) pump" and put "Pine" cleaner in it to get rid of the smell.

I prefer not to use "mist sprays" at all as they do or can atomise and form a (type of?) aerosol that can or does go everywhere.