PDA

View Full Version : Craftsman change gears



tony ennis
10-18-2007, 11:07 PM
I have a 12" Craftsman and am searching ebay for a set of change gears. All the auctions I am looking at say the gears are from Craftsman 12" or Atlas 10" lathes.

I am wondering how I know if the gears are compatible.

Some sellers list the gears as 64A, 56A, 48A, 46A, 40A, 32A, 24 while others just list them by the number of teeth.

What it comes down to is is a 64A the same as a 64?

Ken_Shea
10-18-2007, 11:27 PM
What it comes down to is is a 64A the same as a 64?


Yes.

rantbot
10-19-2007, 01:52 AM
The "A" suffix was a piece of the Sears part number for the separate change gears. In the case of the 64 tooth gear, the Sears number was 9-101-64A (for the old-style 12" lathe).