X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • krems
    • Dec 2006

Flycutter tool bits...??

I need to get a bit to use on a flycutter for facing off 2024 aluminum. I have an R8 shanked flycutter that takes a 5/16" inch bit. Can you buy these specific for the job or do you need to grind these yourself. I've never used a flycutter before. Any specific brand that you've had good luck with?

What kind of material ....HSS / Carbide...coated or uncoated?? and any suggestions on RPM's to run these at. 2" square aluminum blocks will be used.

Thanks in advance.............Krems
  • dp
    • Mar 2005

They're extremely easy to make:

And just about any piece of HSS can be ground to work. I built several different versions in a couple days of experimenting and they all work fine.

They're also pretty cheap to buy at Grizzly or Enco, etc.

Comment

• Mcgyver
      • Mar 2005

krems, grind your own, just pay attention to where you're putting rake and clearance....its NOT the same as a lathe knife tool. as for speed, same as always, speed = 4*cutting speed/dia. cutting speed for for Al & hss = 400 fpm. remember, calculated speeds are a theoretical maximum before the slope of the tool wear curve changes - its perfectly acceptable and easier on everthing to run slow
      located in Toronto Ontario

Comment

• oldtiffie
        • Nov 1999

Fly cutting

Originally posted by krems
        I need to get a bit to use on a flycutter for facing off 2024 aluminum. I have an R8 shanked flycutter that takes a 5/16" inch bit. Can you buy these specific for the job or do you need to grind these yourself. I've never used a flycutter before. Any specific brand that you've had good luck with?

What kind of material ....HSS / Carbide...coated or uncoated?? and any suggestions on RPM's to run these at. 2" square aluminum blocks will be used.

Thanks in advance.............Krems
        Hi Krems.

dp's advice is right on.