PDA

View Full Version : Expanding Mandrels and the use thereof ...

pntrbl
11-02-2007, 11:44 PM
I got a cheap set of expanding mandrels from ENCO, mostly because I was looking for the free $50 shipping :D , but now I see a need .....

Just cranking them down with my hands I can only get about .005 of expansion, and that's mostly at the tip. So I'm thinking a close fitting hole, but I'm not knowing if I need to go to the trouble of boring the hole, or if a drilled hole is accurate enough.

Being only held around the tip is there a potential for the workpiece to get cocked around on there if I get a little too violent? If so I'm leaning towards boring, but I've never done this before. How would I know? :rolleyes:

Thanx for any response.

SP

Mcgyver
11-02-2007, 11:50 PM
drill hole accuracy will mostly depend on how accurate the grind is (with an excellent grind they will drill to a thou or two) but generally drilling is not considered to produce a precision hole. reaming would be quicker than boring and more than accurate enough

J Tiers
11-02-2007, 11:52 PM
What KIND of expanding mandrels?

When you say "expanding mandrels" I think of the type in the pic below, which I use often. They work well, basically like regular tapered ones, but with a large range. Mcgyver is right, a rough hole gives rough results.

But I think you may be referring to the "machinable" ones that are capable of a light expansion only. If so, I haven't ever used that type.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/0803/jstanley/newgear9.jpg

pntrbl
11-03-2007, 12:21 AM
JTiers, I didn't know there was more than one kind, but the operative adjective was cheap! LOL! They don't look anything like the pic you put up. All they have is 4 slots with a screw in the middle. No tapers.... unless you count that little one on the screw. Obviously these aren't high quality equipment like you've got but what the heck, I'll give 'em a chance to live or die.