X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • andy_b
    • Aug 2003

sort of OT - running electrical wires in conduit

i guess this may be "on topic" as it will be used to power my machine tools.

i need to run some additional 110V and 220V lines in my shop. all of my wiring is in metal conduit, and i plan on running these in conduit as well. i need to run three additional 110V outlets, and three 220V outlets, and i can put them next to each other for convenience. i plan on using 10ga wire for both. is it acceptable to run four wires in a single conduit (say a black, a white, a blue and a red) and use the black and white for the 110V and the blue and red for the 220V?

andy b.
    The danger is not that computers will come to think like men - but that men will come to think like computers. - some guy on another forum not dedicated to machining
  • Rif
    • Aug 2006

Hello,

Though I am not an electrician, I do my own electrical work, so I'll relate my opinion.

Last year, I bought my home from somebody who is an electrician. He had a 3-conductor, 12 gauge, wire connecting some lights together. Unknown to me, there were two circuits there with red to white making up one and black to white making up the other. While working on this, the first time, I almost got zapped because one circuit was turned off and the other was still live.

Given what you are suggesting, my first thought is what are you using for ground? Without a ground wire, this is not good. Also, if I were to look at the wires, I would be wondering if you have something rigged up with 3 phase (the blue wire).

So, given the above, my opinion would be no because I don't think it is a standard way of doing things (even with a ground, because the wire colors are wrong)....and if I forgot about how I wired it up, I could have an "enlightening experience" sometime in the future.