PDA

View Full Version : Compressed air motor

Duct Taper
11-15-2007, 01:46 AM
I saw a program on TV tonight about energy efficient cars. One of the cars had an engine that ran on compressed air. I don't recall the range it had, but I was wondering if something like that would be possible to make to use on a three wheel mobility cart for old people or the handicap, or me who wants transportation to the coffee shop in the morning without having to fire up the pickup truck. Gas prices make expensive coffee stops!

Has anybody here tried to make an engine that runs on compressed air? Not like the turbine-type air tools but more like a steam engine with valves and piston.

bhjones
11-15-2007, 02:29 AM
Judging this by the air used by my air tools, I wonder how many thousands of cubic feet of compressed air you'll need per mile...

On the face of it I'd say it's impractical, but I'm no engineer.

darryl
11-15-2007, 02:42 AM
There are lots of ways to make compressed air motors. The more efficient of them use some means of keeping heat in the air as it expands to do the work. The same goes for supplying the air- as it's compressed, you keep it as cool as it can be, so you're not throwing heat energy away. This might sound like an oxymoron, because to keep the air cool, you'd have to draw the heat of compression out of it, and there goes the heat. What does happen is that it makes it easier for the compressor to push more air into a tank with less energy, so there's a savings there.