PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, just saying Hi!

franksremote
11-28-2007, 06:49 PM
Hey folks, new to this site and found it while searching for information on a mill I just picked up and wanted to say "HI!".

I'm a custom 1911 gunsmith and only know enough about milling/machining to complete the tasks that I was taught on a Sharp machine with a DRO.

I just picked up an Index Model 845 with all the collets (not R8 but I figure I'll use them till they break and then switch to the R8s I've got) but no DRO. It was under power when I bought it and other than a nice cleaning, a few belt replacements and a stud replacement, looks to be in great condition. Will take and post pics for before and after when I get a moment.

As I'm a newbie who currently uses a Jet JMD 15 at the shop, it's all that fits, but works if I go slow. I know nothing about the proper way to clean this up and give it a complete checkup. I haven't used the search feature extensively here yet and will shortly.

So, if you have links to point me towards, advice on clean up/maintenance and input on a good replacement DRO (2 or 3 axis) I'd appreciate it. Any feedback on the 845 would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance!

jimmstruk
11-28-2007, 07:17 PM
Welcome!! Lots of good guys here with much experience and knowledge and willing to share. JIM

franksremote
11-28-2007, 08:11 PM
Welcome!! Lots of good guys here with much experience and knowledge and willing to share. JIM

Thanks for the welcome :)

I also picked up a BP series II (4hp powerfeed everthing model) with Accurite DRO that came as part of the package. I got it in the garage, but there's no way short of cutting a hole in the ceiling that I'll be able to keep it. If someone in NorCal has a need/want for one and is looking for one of these, please make a reasonable offer and let me know.

speedsport
11-28-2007, 08:38 PM
not that big of a deal to "cut a hole in the ceiling", probably take 2-3 hours to reframe and cover with drywall.