PDA

View Full Version : Jacobs Drill Chuck/Arbor Prob

lynnl
06-02-2003, 11:20 AM
I have a 1/2 jacobs chuck that I've been using for 2 or 3 years with no problem.
Whilst drilling in my mill the drill chuck came off the #2JT taper of the .5" straight shank arbor. (This happened as I was lifting the turning drill out to clear the chips.) Both mating surfaces looked good as new, so I cleaned both w/acetone, blew dry, and remounted, gave it a few light taps to seat it, and tried it again. ...Chuck immediately came off again. Repeated the process, with same results. Son-in-law showed up about that time, so I asked him about using Loctite, which he discouraged. He suggested I twist the arbor as I seated it in the chuck. So I recleaned/dried, and then seated with a twisting motion, then tapped. Came off again. So this time I pulled out the ol' Loctite and dosed the taper with a film of that, inserted it with a twist, waited a few hours, and tried it. So far it's held.
But I'm wondering if I'm missing something. Anyone have any thoughts to offer?

NOTE(s):
(1) Prior to the first dismount, the drill (3/8") had slipped in the chuck as I was opening up a smaller hole (about 5/16 or 1/4), which required retightening. But the drill was still cutting just prior to lifting to clear chips.
(2) Material was aluminum.
(3) On those unsuccessful attempts, the chuck would come off immediately just as the drill would enter the hole, with no great force.

Joel
06-02-2003, 11:38 AM
lynnl, get out your biggest arc welder, crank voltage up to at least 200 amps and weld together. If that doesn't work, try a bead of silicone. JUST KIDDING!

If it wasn't loctited together, I would say to paint your arbor with prussian blue or magic marker, slide together and twist to see if you are getting good/full contact. It sounds like your jacobs tapers don't match up very well. But you say it has worked for awhile with no problems. Are you sure you seated them together tightly enough?

lynnl