PDA

View Full Version : squaring the sides of a thin steel plate...Question?

krems
01-26-2008, 08:35 PM
What is the proper technique for squaring / shaping the 4 sides of a 3/16" steel plate. I've never worked w/ steel before only aluminum and never played around w/ thin plate material. I've got a piece of 4142 pre hard (hardness 28-32) steel plate that I need to square the sides w/ my manual milling machine.

How would you go about clamping the plate and squaring up the sides?? Would you lay the plate flat or upright in the vise?? What type and size of tooling would be best for this. What about RPM and feed rates??

I know this is a basic milling project and I have just about enough machining knowledge to be dangerous...........Thanks in advance

Krems

aboard_epsilon
01-26-2008, 08:46 PM
you don't Say how big your plate is ...

or what milling machine you have

anyway if its large

take the vice off.

put an angle plate on the table .

place steel plate (your work) against it ......so that plate edge runs down centre of t-slot...or a gap big enough to get your endmill in with plenty of clearence ...

dial in the angle plate so that it is square to the table.

this is done with a lever type dial indicator in the quill.

tighten bolts on angle plate

clamp down your work in as many places as possible using the t-slots .

mill away .......using the angle plate for all sides

krems
01-26-2008, 09:00 PM
I'm working with the flate plate material 3" by 2" +/-...........Maybe the term plate was a poor choice. I've got a basic 9 x 42 " milling machine. I don't have any angle plates yet so I will be limited to the kurt vise for now.

Krems

aboard_epsilon
01-26-2008, 09:14 PM
all i can suggest then .

thats if your Kurt will open up 4 inches or more

is you lay a parallel down in the vice ...on its side
one parallel each side of the jaws.

put workpeice on top of the parallel....and between parallels that are standing upright