PDA

View Full Version : Language Translating Machines

aostling
01-28-2008, 06:35 PM
I've taken up the hobby of digiscoping, taking photographs by mounting a P&S digital camera behind the eyepiece of a spotting scope. I'm in the early learning phase for hardware and technique, and for knowledge of the local Arizona birds.

Here's a reply (#2) I made to a recent post on the digiscoping forum http://www.birdforum.net/showthread.php?t=106255. The Italian, Michele, used translating software which I think failed to get even the gist of his question across. However, the Finn seems to have made a better guess than I did.

I have little experience with language translating software. Has the state-of-the art progressed no further than this?

Evan
01-28-2008, 06:54 PM
The question is, "do we have intelligent machines yet?" The answer is no, not even close. Language doesn't have rigorous rules, especially English.

Machine translation will never be very good unless we can develop intelligent machines. There isn't a single shred of evidence that that is possible.

pntrbl
01-28-2008, 07:03 PM
The question is, "do we have intelligent machines yet?" The answer is no, not even close. Language doesn't have rigorous rules, especially English.

Machine translation will never be very good unless we can develop intelligent machines. There isn't a single shred of evidence that that is possible.

I dunno Evan. I think some of your machines are smarter than me already! :D

SP

rotate
01-28-2008, 08:38 PM

Do you mean that it's not possible in principle, or that all the progress that's been made in AI doesn't mount up to much?

I think there's some real renewed optimism in AI research that's coming from neuroscience and microbiology. Trying to model a CNS of a slug or a snail is a good start, instead of some stupid s/w that tries to emulate a psychologist. If you believe that mind is the what the brain does, then it's only a matter of time before we can reverse engineer it.

DancingBear