PDA

View Full Version : What mill to buy.....

66glide
02-07-2008, 08:43 AM
Hello, folks. I'm a newbie here, my name is Dave, I am a professional mechanic and a wannabe machinist. I am looking for input on a decent midsized mill. It will not be used in daily production. I need it for machining work on older motorcycle parts. I don't like chinese made tools in general, but for the amount of use versus price I may buy one. So....opinions?? Grizzly has a big line up and 1500 dollars is about my limit but even so, they have a few in this price and lower. Knowing how little I do, what features should I be looking for? Would I be better off to find a used quality unit? (floorspace is at a premium, too) All input appreciated!! Thanks!
I did a search on the site and found a few different opinions and good info but would like to hear personal experience from some of you who own and use these units.

Roy Andrews
02-07-2008, 11:07 AM