PDA

View Full Version : Wildblue Satellite Internet

rws
02-13-2008, 12:34 PM
Any opinions on Wildblue? Thinking on going with them, just want to ask anyone's experiences good or bad before taking that damn 18 month contract! I wish they didn't do that.

pcarpenter
02-13-2008, 12:42 PM
I have no personal experience with them, but I am a system administrator in an IT department at a university. I had one of our users I know well ask me what I thought of it and I had no experience to go on. He got the service and called me to let me know that he is quite pleased....other than the fact that its really pricey.

Paul

jdr_chips
02-13-2008, 01:47 PM
I can't comment on wildblue service directly, but I had the old direcway now hughesnet for a couple years. The one thing I would warn you of is the lag you get with satellite up & down link. The satellites are in a geosynchronous orbit, about 22,000 miles from earth, so when you click the button the speed of light takes about 0.4 seconds total round trip to go from your house to the sat then sat to ground station, then onto the internet, then ground to sat and sat to house. Not a problem for casual surfing, and once the stream is established things are fine, but if you are doing something that requires constant interaction it gets old very quickly.

My advice is if there is any terrestrial solution available use that ( I now have sprint wireless with an antenna on a 30 foot mast on the roof ) but if your only option is satellite wild blue is probably your best choice.

If I sound a bit technical I apologize, my company builds satellite modems ;) (at least I didn't get into Reed Solomon & Viterbi :p )...

Good Luck,

Jeff

bhjones
02-13-2008, 02:17 PM
I'm a Wildblue user. I'm also a prior Direcway/Hughes user.

Wildblue is the superior service between the two, but it does have all the downsides of Satellite internet service.