X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • laddy
    • Feb 2003

basic question:bolt circle

I have to drill a 4 hole bolt circle on a .5 diameter circle in a piece of brass. I maked my circle from center with a drafting compas. the bolt holes would be .375" apart. I mark it out but never get the .375" apart for all 4. What is the proper way of doing this. I figured I would mark it out center punch the marks and use my drill press to drill the holes.
    I am only a hobbyist with a 6" lathe, milll etc. I do have a rotary table, but what is the best way to approach it to get it close to right. It is for a steam engine. Thanks in advance to all. Fred
  • Frank Ford
    • Dec 2003

Oops, accidental post.
    Cheers,

Frank Ford
    HomeShopTech

Comment

• ptjw7uk
      • Feb 2006

Not sure where you got the .375 measurement from I make it .354.
      I would scribe a circle 0.25 diameter pick a spot and pop mark it, then scribe arcs 0.354 from the pop mark to give 2nd and 3rd corner you can then get the 4th from any of the other points.
      Not sure if this is the best way to do it but it is one way.
      Peter
      I have tools I don't know how to use!!

Comment

• laddy
        • Feb 2003

Hey Peter,
        Thanks, guess my math was the screw up. Hope I can return the favor in the future. Best regards Fred

Comment

• darryl
          • Jan 2003

I'm not math wizz or a formulaholic or an algebrain, but I think it's a simple matter of triangulation. Mark out two lines at right angles intersecting the center of the circle. Then solve the equasion for the length of the thrd side of the triangle that forms between any two of the bolt holes and the two lines. You know the length of that line as you say it's .375, so compute the length of the other two sides, and that's the distance from center to mark the locations.