PDA

View Full Version : how do you sharpen you lathe tooling?

kjbllc
02-15-2008, 06:14 PM
do you have a sequence of operations? Such as do the side first to such and such degrees and then the top and then the rake? It would be helpful to have some guidelines like that for me as a beginner, I am having a bit of difficulty with the pictures in the SB book. thanks.

NickH
02-15-2008, 06:21 PM
I rotate my insert to present a fresh edge :D
No shimming for edge height, re-zeroing for the center zero etc. etc.
:D
Nick

lazlo
02-15-2008, 06:26 PM
Just about any intro machine shop text will have a set of photos showing the sequence of grinding operations on a pedestal grinder.

The South Bend "How To Run a Lathe" has a good section on grinding lathe tools, as does Moltrecht's Machine Shop Practice.

Oldbrock
02-15-2008, 06:45 PM
Have patience Keith, the books WILL arrive Peter

oldtiffie
02-15-2008, 07:38 PM
do you have a sequence of operations? Such as do the side first to such and such degrees and then the top and then the rake? It would be helpful to have some guidelines like that for me as a beginner, I am having a bit of difficulty with the pictures in the SB book. thanks.

Hi kjbllc

To the question and then to the point.

First of all, do keep water at hand for 2 reasons:
- to stop over-heating the tool as that may damage its cutting qualities: and
- it gets bloody hot and uncomfortable on your hands/fingers -as you've probably discovered for yourself.

Start off with a "fresh" wheel if possible. Not a new wheel but one that has been "dressed" so as to "true it up" and present/have a better/"sharper" cutting action.

The reality is that when you are roughing the shape of the tool out, whether the grinder is grinding away from the cutting edge is not important - at all.