PDA

View Full Version : When is steady rest needed?

El Cazador
02-16-2008, 10:57 PM
Is there a generally accepted guide for the need to use a steady rest? I ask because the first thing I want to turn on the lathe I got a while back will be about 7-8" of mild steel of 1" dia. 3" in the middle will be 1", or close to it, and to each side about 2" of 3/4" dia.
Uh, yeah, I'm real new at this.
Vic
Redlands, CA

pntrbl
02-17-2008, 12:16 AM
I'm still learning myself Vic, and BTW, I'm also almost you're neighbor being up in Hesperia, :), but I think you'd be best to set up on a center in your tailstock for a long slender piece. If the piece was hollow on the end or somesuch where you couldn't get it on a center then you'd have to go to the steady.

I believe I've heard a good general rule is if you have more than 3 times the diameter of your piece sticking out in space you should be supported at the other end.

SP

fishfrnzy
02-17-2008, 02:00 AM
I am no expert when it comes to turning but,
with only 7-8" you should be ok to center drill end and use your tailstock.
I have done similar sized pieces several times without using steady.
If the hole in your spindle is larger than 1 " you can chuck all but the end you are turning to further reduce flexing.
If you go much longer though you would probably need to use the steady.

KiddZimaHater
02-17-2008, 10:10 AM
Here are some general tips for using the steady rest:
If your material is sticking out of the chuck more than 4 times it's diameter.
If you are unable to centerdrill the end for tailstock support.
If you are turning odd-shaped material and are unable to tailstock it.
If you need to faceoff the end of long material.
etc...
The steady rest is just another tool to help support the material.
Be creative.
Cazador, You might be better-off if you run that part between centers.

BobWarfield
02-17-2008, 11:10 AM