PDA

View Full Version : is this all there is?

shoprat
02-18-2008, 12:30 PM
hi again been a while
after reading over a lot of the posts and especially lanes i felt a little better about posting my own.i am a welder at work and i fill in in the machine shop when needed,manual machines only.ill be 52 next month and i still dont know what i want to be when i grow up!4yrs welding 20 plus driving truck and construction when i was younger!i dont want to do it anymore,i like it as a hobby.kind of tired of getting all grubby every day,but dont have any idea what to do.it got bad enough to go to the doc and she put me on anti depressants.they havent started to work yet so i dont want to make any rash decisions but wish i could just take a year off and figure it out.sorry to be so negetive just wondering if anybody has been here and if so what did you end up doing? thanks i will go cry in my coffee now.

MTNGUN
02-18-2008, 12:55 PM
Pretty much the story of my life.

My high school counselors taught me that I should choose an occupation that I enjoyed. I was naive enough to believe them.

I enjoyed being a student, so I tried to be a teacher. I hated the politics of public schools.

I enjoyed tinkering with motorcycles, so I worked as a mechanic for a while. When I had to do it day after day after day, I hated it.

I enjoyed math and problem solving, so I tried being an engineer. On the rare occasions that I actually got to use my training, it was very satisfying, but mostly I went to meetings and did paperwork and made phone calls, and I hated it

It took me a long time to figure out that work is supposed to be unpleasant -- that's why they have to pay you to do it.

I do enjoy some aspects of my job, and I take pride in it when a project turns out well, but the bottom line is, I wouldn't do it full time unless I had to make a living. And I am now comfortable with that. Yes, that may be all there is.