PDA

View Full Version : noobs follow rest

dockrat
02-27-2008, 03:19 PM
One of the first things I had to make for my asian import lathe was a follow rest as it didn't come with one. It was a pretty intense thing for me as I was (and still am) a total newbie when it came to machining. Read a bunch of books on technique and did a lot of paper layout first then decided to tackle it. Got a couple of 1/2" chunks of mild steel and started making chips. I first turned out a 5"OD circle then bored out the center to 3" ID. for the main body. For the base I used a piece of one inch keystock and then bored out another piece of plate to 5"ID and then cut it to fit between the body and the base. This was one of two critical cuts as it had to be cut to just the right hight to make the center of the body center with the axis of the spindle.
The next critical cuts where in the body circle so as to mount the adjustable plungers so they would line up dead center on the spindle axis also. To do this I installed an 8"x 1/16 Zip cut off blade in my compound miter saw, lined up the cuts. clamped it down, said "here goes nothing" and made the 3 cuts.
The plungers and plunger adjustment screws were petty straight forward except I didnt have a mill at that time and had to make up something to cut the grooves in the plungers (more on that later) Anyhow when all was said and done it turned out pretty good. Ok lets see if I have this photobucket thing figured out

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh67/Dockrat1/followrest2Small.jpg

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh67/Dockrat1/followrest3Small.jpg

BTW excuse the welding..first time with my new mig that I had to buy to put it together. I'm getting better now

This is the setup I made to do the milling before I got my real mill. Again excuse the welding. It aint pretty but it works

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh67/Dockrat1/IMGP0372Small.jpg

One thing this project taught me was that your always making tools for your tools

Ernie