PDA

View Full Version : how to Machine eccentric

laddy
03-01-2008, 01:31 PM
Hey,
How do I machine this??? I have a 6" lathe and a verticle milling machine and am a Newbie. I need a step by step. What to do first, what to do second... Sorry I am self taught and have a dumb teacher! Thanks in advance for the help! Fred I have been screwing around with the photobucket and can't get itto work. It looks like a circle with one square corn=er. Like you drow a circl then do a tanget at 12 and at three and connect. How do I mill the SOB from a round stock Thanks. Soprry my computer skills suck Too. Best to all Fred

IOWOLF
03-01-2008, 01:48 PM
A pic is worth a word or 2, Duh.

No wonder you can't figure it out.

Oldbrock
03-01-2008, 02:02 PM
Let's not get snappy, give the guy a chance. Someone give him a hand posting his pictures. I'm still having computer questions and need help myself often. Peter

rantbot
03-01-2008, 02:08 PM
The description seems clear enough.

A part like that says "rotary table" all over it.

Spin Doctor
03-01-2008, 02:09 PM
As far as posting pictures, well the sticky at the top of the thread list covers that pretty well. For machining an eccentric in the lathe for that you need a four jaw chuck. If you need an 1/8th inch eccentric you need to indicate the part with 1/4" total indicator runout. Or if you have a number of pieces to do then you are getting into the realm of fixturing

BadDog
03-01-2008, 02:13 PM
Yep, seems like a rotary table is the only option with common tools.

And that's a cam, not an eccentric. An eccentric could be created with an offset in a 4 jaw.

ProGunOne
03-01-2008, 02:15 PM
Here's a picture for Laddy:

http://img338.imageshack.us/img338/5334/dsc00351fk4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

John Stevenson
03-01-2008, 02:45 PM
http://www.stevenson-engineers.co.uk/files/eccentric.jpg

OK,
shape drawn in black at 10" in diameter, I have used this so the figures work out well.
Cutter is 2" diameter, I know it's big but the radius is 1"