PDA

View Full Version : Mill clutch not disengaging

Fasttrack
03-05-2008, 01:48 AM
Alright guys, sorry for any ambiguities, I'm new to the mill game. I'm still working on getting a handle on all the lathe manufacturers and what-not!

Anyway, there is an old bridgeport mill here at school, something like a 34" table, 36" if you count the endpieces. It has three (or was it four?) speeds in low and high gear. These are adjusted by changing the belt on the pulleys. We have another j-head next to it but its been setup to cut splines so this old one has been getting alot of use.

When you go into back-gear ... or low gear i guess ... it makes a horrible grinding noise. When you slide the lever to disengage the clutch, it does not completely disengage and the clutch mechanism up on top is really sloppy. I've overcomed the problem by shimming it with a piece of sheetmetal. I'm sure there must be an adjustment for this and was wondering how that adjustment is made.

I hope you all know what i'm talking about :) :o

Peter S
03-05-2008, 04:10 AM
Its more than 20 years since I used or looked at a Bridgeport with J -head (step pulleys), but I still recall a couple of things, including the terrible noise when you get it wrong.

When you move the lever on top of the head it causes two pins to move up or down a ramp (the cam ring). These pins are screwed in and sometimes come loose. From memory you simply tighten them with a screw driver.

Also, I guess you are also moving the other lever on the RH side of the head as well? (Sorry for stating the obvious here).

Looking in my manual - for back gear, move the lever on top to the right, and the lever on the side to the "in" position.

When changing to direct drive the top lever goes to the front position, the side lever to "out".

You are supposed to turn the spindle by hand at this stage to let the clutch engage, it should 'clunk' into place.

Corm
03-05-2008, 07:18 AM