PDA

View Full Version : Big Ticket Shop Items

KiloBravo
04-10-2008, 04:53 PM
Hi,

What do you guys think are the main must have machines for a home shop. I am a hobbyist but am trying to figure out what is a must have and what is nice. (besides the fortune I am spending on tooling.)

The good ?
I have a South Bend Heavy 10" Lathe, an 800 lb Sq Column Mill, a new Surface Plate w/stand, and a small Sheldon Horizontal Mill.

The bad ?
I also have a 2 ton shop crane, a 4" x 6" H/V band saw, a bench top drill press, and a 8" grinder all from Harbor Freight.

The wish list ?

A 20 ton press
An Arbor Press
A surface grinder
A shaper

I would also like to get a good floor stand drill press and a good grinder.

Does this seem like a reasonably equipped shop ? I plan on cruising the auctions to pick up these items. So trying to figure out what I should buy first. I probably will get the drill press and then the grinder. I just missed getting a 20 ton press when I got my surface plate at a recent auction. The drill presses they had went put of sight on the prices unfortunately.

I am sure a lot depends on what I want to do but, I want to do it all eventually :)

A long term plan is to convert the Sq. Column Mill to CNC and buy a big old Bridgeport for manual stuff.

Regards,
Kevin

topct
04-10-2008, 05:12 PM
The first thing to buy is the first piece you find.

smiller6912
04-10-2008, 05:39 PM
Don't forget the obvious stuff: air compressor, belt sander, blast cabinet, mig welder, and that kinds of things..........

SGW
04-10-2008, 05:44 PM
I think I wouldn't try to anticipate my needs (too much) and instead buy when a need arises. It looks to me as though you have the basics covered pretty well.

Personally, with a good milling machine I've never felt the need for a drill press.

quasi
04-10-2008, 06:27 PM
compared to a lot of guys here, you already have a very well equiped shop.

japcas
04-10-2008, 06:36 PM