PDA

View Full Version : Wiring equipment up

loose nut
04-25-2008, 08:30 PM
My old mill/drill was a 220v machine with low amps (5 I think) and was wired with 14 gauge wire, my new mill is a 110v machine that draws 16 amps. I'm guessing that I'll have to rewire to 12 gauge and use a 20 amp breaker. Are there any electrical minded folks here that can say if I'm right or not. This would be under Canadian code. Thanks

Dawai
04-25-2008, 08:57 PM
You are a long way from Georgia.

THE Old code book here said 12 was good for 20 amps
14ga was good for 15 amps..

Modern wiring insulations are better and can carry more heat.

MOST 120 volt receptacles are not good for 20 amps.. check the box.

Oldguy
04-25-2008, 09:11 PM
Can the new mills motor be rewired for 220? That would make things a lot easier.

Glenn

Dunc
04-25-2008, 09:33 PM
from north of the 49th

As far as i know (I am not an electrician) the 12 ga 20 amp bit is fine. There is an abridged version of the Cdn Electrical Code (maybe ON version tho) in local Home Depot stores. You should be able to see the finer points there.

This would get you from the breaker box to the wall outlet. This should be a special plug to announce the 20 amp capacity. From there to the machine could be just a cord - 12 ga - and plug (while the socket is different it will accept the usual 15 amp plug. Make sure that the plug itself is 20 amp or better rated).

Depending on the physical layout, you may prefer armored cable - wired direct into the box, no plug - from the wall to the machine. Never done this myself & don't know if the above book covers it.

Have fun!

loose nut
04-25-2008, 10:19 PM
Most of the mills of this type from other distributors are dual 110/220V but the supplier will only rate this one at 110. The salesman said it might be capable of running on 220 but they will not cover it if something burns up.