PDA

View Full Version : cad/cam, what are you guys using?

jacampb2
04-26-2008, 07:03 PM
I have been using Acad autodesk '06 for a few years now, and have gotten fairly good with it, both for 2d and 3d modeling. From reading my mach3 manual again, a cam program or post processor is highly recommended. So, what software are you guys using? Preferably affordably priced. I haven't looked at the included software with mach3, haven't had time yet. I know I saw a lot of discussion in a thread a while back, but I am not turning it up. I could have sworn it was one of Evan's threads, but I am not seeing it. If you have the link, that is fine by me too.

Anyhow, I would like to be able to do 3d, or is it 2.5d, I am not really sure what the heck the difference is.

Tell me what you all recommend.

Thanks,
Jason

BobWarfield
04-27-2008, 01:23 AM
Rhino3D for CAD, OneCNC for CAM. That latter is nice, but not cheap. I talked them into a student discount, and it still wasn't cheap. But it is a nice package.

Cheers,

BW

mochinist
04-27-2008, 01:53 AM
acad and solidworks for cad and featurecam for cad/cam, nothing cheap though. You might try searching thru a few of Evans threads from this year, I think he is using cambam now, but not positive.

these two links will give you a better idea of what the differance between 2.5d and 3d is

http://www.featurecam.com/general/software/featuremill2d.asp
http://www.featurecam.com/general/software/featuremill3d.asp

jacampb2
04-27-2008, 07:38 AM
Thanks guys, I will keep researching today, I was out of time last night, and thought you all might have some good suggestions. I will look through the posted software first.

Thanks,
Jason

brian Rupnow
04-27-2008, 07:38 AM
I am a design engineer, and work in 3D Solidworks. It is an amazing program, and I can not say enough good things about it. if I want to export to a shop for CNC work I can export in .dwg, .dxf, or .iges formats. www.rupnowdesign.com

jacampb2
04-27-2008, 08:02 AM