PDA

View Full Version : Anything to do in San Mateo/San Jose

macona
04-28-2008, 04:28 PM
On the first I am heading down to San Mateo and San Jose for the Maker Faire http://www.makerfaire.com/ . My friend is setting up a booth with some stuff to sell so I am going along to help out.

Is there anything worth seeing? Any place where I can find goodies?

My friend runs a place called Surplus Gizmos (http://www.surplusgizmos.com) and we are also looking for goodies for resale so if anyone knows of any good sources...

lazlo
04-28-2008, 04:42 PM
San Jose has the world's best surplus yards -- all the stuff left over from the fabs. I have a couple of favorites I visit that I'll PM you...

ckelloug
04-28-2008, 05:02 PM
The Tech Museum in San Jose is neat! I once finagled my way in there to the E-Bay/PayPal corporate Christmas party. There's all sorts of interesting exhibits. Probably not as good as the surplus places but I'm not an expert on the latter.

--Cameron

trains4
04-28-2008, 05:50 PM
lazlo, would you mind sharing to all? I know of Triangle Machinery & Tool at 1051 Commercial Ct. in San Jose. Are there others?
Thanks,
Gene

gearedloco
04-28-2008, 06:12 PM
Is there any place to take the place of the long lamented LASQUAD metals?

macona
04-28-2008, 06:13 PM
Triangle Machinery has shrunk big time from what I understand. I went there last year coming back up from LA when I bought my 10EE. A lot of the stuff there was apparently on consignment with a guy that the friend I am going down there with. Apparently they guy at triangle decided to scale down so the guy pulled all his stuff and my friend is buying it for resale in his store.

Ries
04-28-2008, 10:29 PM