PDA

View Full Version : Career Change?

small.planes
05-14-2008, 03:58 AM
Hi All,
Im considering a career change, but its a big step. I cant really ask anyone at work :rolleyes: but I know there are people here who make a living from metal.
A bit of background:
Currently I write embedded control software, software that controls the power on railways, oil in pipelines, that sort of stuff. Im a Senior Development Engineer, so I get to develop the new stuff, not just configure the systems to customer specs. However after 8 years of this at 3 companies I find it really doesnt interest me any more :(
I ran across an ad for a Technical Instructor in a workshop environment. Teaching how to use machine tools, CNC, welding, and wood work ( :confused: ). Sound like a job I could do, and might enjoy. I have previously instructed Sailing and climbing, so I have *some* instructor skills...
However there are 2 downsides, firstly they want a time served engineer with formal apprenticeship and 7 years experience (machine shop /toolroom), which I am not. As it stands I do have a good understanding of tools and there uses, but no 'bits of paper'. I have had a gas welding set for 10 years, a lathe for 4 or 5, and a mill for about 2. I have quite an extensive collection of engineering books (My fathers side of the family are 'real' engineers), and the CNC side doesnt phase me (its just software ;) ).

Secondly the pay is not to good (comparatively to current job) they are offering 20-25K GBP depending on experience and paperwork (so I guess Id be at the 20 end). Currently Im on about 30K, so thats quite a pay cut.

Plus sides are that I can cycle there (means we can got to 1 car), sounds like an interesting job, and they want the person to get qualifications / certs for various things.