PDA

View Full Version : Fly Cutter

JMI
05-18-2008, 06:04 PM
I’m new to milling machines as well as the forum, with some dabbling with lathe work. I’ve been experimenting with a milling machine using different tools and materials to take different cuts. I have no formal training in any of this so if the descriptions of my “technique” show utter ignorance constructive criticism is most welcome.
Using a fly cutter with a cemented carbide lathe tool to “face off” the top of some 3” mild carbon steel flat stock, as the work passes beneath the tool to the point where the tool come around to the trailing edge where I hoped it would just pass over, it instead take more metal off.
This is not what I expected. What does this indicate and how do I correct it?

Thanks

Jim

BobWarfield
05-18-2008, 06:14 PM
In general, it shows your mill head is out of tram. That means it is tilted relative to the plane of the table. So you can imagine the arc of the cutter is then not parallel to the table. Need to know a little more about your mill to suggest how to tram it.

Got a picture and model of it?

Best,

BW

JMI
05-18-2008, 07:40 PM
Thanks for your response, Bob,
Don't have a picture but the machine is a Jet Mill/Drill Model JMD-18PF about 10-12 years old. I have the Operator's Manual but it is lean on useful information. The machine is very similar to this (http://industrial.jettools.com/Products.aspx?nav=ByPart&ClassID=333020&Part=350020) but without the DRO.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

Jim

Carld
05-18-2008, 07:49 PM
If yours is like the Jet then the head looks to be fixed. You can find out if your head is out by sweeping in the head with a dial indicator. If it's out you have a serious problem.