PDA

View Full Version : 5C Spin Indexer

snowman
05-21-2008, 10:39 PM
Will I be able to cut a gear using a 5C spin indexer?

I want to hold an arbor in the spindex, arbor will be held by a tailstock and a collet. All the spindex will be used for is indexing.

I'm just not sure how rigid they are, I've never used one before.

dp
05-22-2008, 01:18 AM
I cut a brass gear with mine as the first project I did with it after I bought it. In fact making gears is the only reason I bought it. I also cut a couple steel gears with it, too. The next time I use it will be to cut a new ratchet wheel for my shaper and I'm going to use the shaper to do it.

I'm fortunate in that each gear I've needed could be indexed with the Spin indexer (for tooth count). I'm going to come up against it one of these days and won't be able to use it and will have to buy the real thing. Damn the bad luck. Good thing I have a happy wife.

John Stevenson
05-22-2008, 04:28 AM
Yes they will be rigid enough but be warned that as DP says the tooth count matters.
It has to be divisable into 360 degrees or you will need a different index plate from the one supplied.

Or you want one of these :D

http://www.stevenson-engineers.co.uk/files/5cindexer.jpg

snowman
05-22-2008, 08:44 AM
Your picture didn't come through John.

I have a dividing head, but I need to make some repairs on it...and simply am not that interested in doing that right now.

Timleech
05-22-2008, 09:43 AM
Your picture didn't come through John.

Something strange going on. It wasn't there first time I looked, then it was a bit later.
Just now when I looked at the latest post, John's pic showed & then vanished after a few seconds.

Tim

tiptop
05-22-2008, 10:56 AM
John that set up looks very interesting. Do you have a couple more pictures of it or can you elaborate on the subject? What kind of connection did you use between the gear box and the indexer? Not trying to steal your thread snowman just interested. Jay

Duffy
05-22-2008, 01:24 PM