PDA

View Full Version : Welding Galvanized Pipe

madman
05-23-2008, 08:31 AM
I am building a 10 foot tall galvanized steel pipe fence around a shop. I was wondering do you buy the pipe galvanized already galvanivzed and how do you weld it? Is a Mig Unit preferable to a stick for this purpose?? I heard (word on the nstreet) that welding galvanized steel makes you sick?? Is this true? Thanx Mike

torker
05-23-2008, 08:38 AM
Mike, we weld lots of galvanized pipe/plate here.
Field work we use mainly 6010.. in the shop we use dualshield wire.
Helps if you can grind off a bit of the coating.
Yup.. it can make you sick if you do enough of it.
Do it outdoors and stay out of the smoke or use a good canister type respirator.
Any fencing outfit will have the pipe in stock or your steel guy?
Russ

rwf71
05-23-2008, 08:43 AM
I'm no expert but I read of a case recently where an experienced welder who knew better was welding galvanized & in 24 hrs was DEAD. I'd say self contained breathing equipment & good ventalation is a must. Like I said I'm no expert but hopefully one (Torker ?) will weigh in on this thread.Be careful. Rick

rwf71
05-23-2008, 08:45 AM
I'm a slow typer, looks like Torker is here already. BTW Russ , have you heard it can kill ? Rick

Randolph
05-23-2008, 08:46 AM
Yes. Welding galvanized steel will make you sick. It also makes you irritated and frustrated and will cause you to kick your dog if you have one. But it can be done. I have been told that the bad effects of welding galvanized steel are like mercury poisoning. That is, it accumulates in your system. I welded galvanized material when I was in my twenties and thought my father didn't know what he was talking about when he said it would make me sick. But if I weld it now I get a really bad headache so I avoid it altogether. I suggest you weld it with stick outside while there is a breeze blowing. Use either 6010, 6011 or 7018. Drinking milk is supposed to help offset the bad effects.

torker