PDA

View Full Version : BP head... motor change?



torker
05-29-2008, 04:31 PM
this "M" head on my new mill is 550 Volt. Can I easily change it to 220 3/ph?
Thanks!
Russ

paulx
05-29-2008, 04:37 PM
No.Rewind it or find a transformer.

torker
05-29-2008, 04:53 PM
Transformers for 220 to 550?? Can you do that?

Bguns
05-29-2008, 05:08 PM
Look up buck boost transformers...

A 1/2 or 3/4 C face motor and adapter plate (and a little drive pully adapting) is another way to go....

torker
05-29-2008, 05:30 PM
Bguns.. that's sorta what I was thinking.... the motor swap. It is a C frame 1/2hp motor. Seems it shouldn't be too hard to swap something in. Unless I'm missing something.
Russ

lane
05-29-2008, 08:07 PM
No problem. Parts required . 1 C face motor. 1 piece of 5/8 are 3/4 alum.plate some machine time and you got it.

JRouche
05-29-2008, 09:13 PM
Curious now.. The voltage plate only has a 550vac wiring diagram? My M head has diags for four voltages, non of them being 550v.... JR

Doozer
05-29-2008, 09:32 PM
Dude, he's from Canada, hence the 550v.
Here in Buffalo you might find motors 25 cycle and/or 2 phase.
--Doozer

torker
05-29-2008, 09:51 PM
JR.. doozer is correct. 550 and 600 volt are very common up here.
It is looking better if I can just swap out the motor.

JRouche
05-29-2008, 09:53 PM
JR.. doozer is correct. 550 and 600 volt are very common up here.
It is looking better if I can just swap out the motor.

Dang!! I wish we werent so afraid of the higher voltages here, the higher the better really... Is there a voltage tag on it?? Didnt see one... Oh, nice BFM there Russ. JR

jdr_chips
05-30-2008, 10:29 AM
I recently replaced the motor on my J head:

J head replacement thread (http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=28320)

Page 2 has some good tips on re-sizing the motor shaft to fit the old pulley.

It really was no problems. I was doing the same hp & voltage, but different motor mount style. It has been working like a champ since then.

Jeff

torker
05-30-2008, 12:04 PM
Jeff...thanks a bunch for the link to your thread! I missed that before.
Russ

hardtail
05-30-2008, 01:26 PM
I find it a bit odd that only the head would be 550V and not the entire machine or a good part of it? Some of the control circuits may get knocked down........did they transform up to just power the head or is the main motor 550 too?

10% is considered within limits so 550/575/600V is all the same class.

Too bad I didn't know earlier, I was down at Ft Steele just over a month ago and may have been interested in the Ohio.......frown......LOL

fasto
05-30-2008, 03:20 PM
My B&S mill is 550V as well. :) Has 3 motors. Consensus is that it was originally ordered by the Navy, as 550V is a common shipboard voltage. Previous owner belives he bought it at an auction in North Kingstown, RI in the early 70's probably from the Quonset Point NAS closing.

The previous owner set it up with two single phase step up transformers wired to convert 208V to 550V, open delta. You can see them in this picture, atop the electrical cabinet:
B&S #2 Mill (http://www.psinteg.net/files/b-s_rhs.jpg)
This works great.

torker
05-30-2008, 03:26 PM
Sorry.. all the electrics are 550V. I never mentioned the main drive motor as I'm going to replace it with the motor from my other mill. I already have it set up for 220V with a VFD.