PDA

View Full Version : ball screws VS. acme w/backlash comp (manual mill)

DaHui
06-04-2008, 12:40 PM
I'm wondering which will give me more reliable positioning performance: ballscrews (presumably 0 backlash) or and acme screw and DRO with backlash comensation...on a Bridgeport mill...assuming all other factors are not considered.

Okay, I know you aren't "supposed" to use ball screws on a manual machine. However, I worked in a shop for a while that had a bridgport that was converted to CNC and then converted back to manual...except they didn't remove the ballscrews.

I fell in love with it, the best bridgeport I ever used. Under normal conditions I didn't experience any wander caused by the driving effect of the ball screws and it was geat not to deal with paying attention to my feed direction during my initial positioning. It was spot on every time.

So here we are today, thinking about getting my own bridgeport. I've been looking at the new accurite DRO's that have backlash comp built into them. However, I've also found a great deal on a "nearly new" set of NSK ball screws for the brideport. Coincidence?

So my choice is a less fancy DRO (cheaper than $1,300 for the Accurite 200S) and the ball screws or get the bells and whistles DRO and keep the acme screws. Any advice?

lazlo
06-04-2008, 01:12 PM
Ballscrews have backlash too - the ballnuts are usually mounted in pairs and pre-loaded to take up the backlash. It's just that a ground ballscrew and ball bearing (in the ballnut) can have a smaller clearance, and virtually no wear, so the backlash will be less.

I've been looking at the new accurite DRO's that have backlash comp built into them.

How does that work? Why would the DRO care about the backlash of the table screws? The DRO tells you the absolute position of the table, which in itself eliminates any backlash issues (the DRO doesn't change until you wind the leadscrew past the backlash).