PDA

View Full Version : Plasma cutter

JRouche
06-13-2008, 10:43 PM
I love my plasma cutter. I have a TD Pakmaster 50. I dont use it nearly enough. So this week I see my neighbor out in his front yard adapting a cargo carrier to his offroad motorcycle trailer. He was welding, grinding and cutting alot of 16ga sheetmetal.

He would be out there for half an hour cutting one small panel for the sides of the new compartment. He was using a disc abrasive wheel on his angle grinder. Works great, I have done plenty of sheet metal cutting that way before plasma. But he was making a huge racket, doesnt bother me but in this suburban neighborhood Im sure some folks were cringing, specially cause he would start working on it at night LOL And he was eating up discs like they were free. Alot of cutting..

So tonight Im sitting out here drinking a beer and see him start on the biggest panel yet, a full sheet of steel for the top. Im thinking five discs and an hour later he would be done..

So I wheel my plasma cart across the street cause I know he has a compressor. And I tell him we can do this hour job in less than five minutes. Sure enough. I plug in to electrical and air and grab a bar of steel for a guide and tell him to hold his end of the bar, and Ill hold mine. He had alreay marked all the cuts with a sharpie pen. At about 10 inches per second the 16ga was being sliced up like butter. In minutes we had about eight different cuts, some really long ones done.. And with the guide they were straight as an arrow, and not slag or HAZ. Fast!!!

I wheeled the cutter back home and it was a done deal... Glad to help out a fellow metal man!!!! JR

rmack898
06-13-2008, 10:54 PM
Did he ask you what brand of beer you like?

torker
06-13-2008, 11:10 PM
I couldn't survive without a plasma cutter. A 10 foot shear would be better. But I can't pick that up and move it with one hand like the HT 600 I use.
JR.. I bet his mouth dropped open when he saw how fast you cut that up?
Russ