PDA

View Full Version : Grinder Wheels for HSS Tools ?

nc cooter
06-26-2008, 04:28 AM
I am newbie with a new/used JET 9x20 and I need help selecting grinder wheels for my 6" bench grinder. I know the selections for a 6" are limited, so any input will be appreciated.
My main tools will be HSS but I would also like a wheel for touch up on carbide.

Thanks.

Your Old Dog
06-26-2008, 08:22 AM
Sorry you didn't get an answer sooner. ( I am no expert on this topic but here's how I do it. ) I use a "pink" 60 grit wheel for my HSS bits. It cuts the HSS very quickly and with much less heat. I should probably get an 80 or 100 grit wheel to go with it for a nicer finish. These wheels are soft and do not tend to burn the steel. I use these only on my HSS bits because they'd wear out pretty quickly on general shop grinding but for bits the last really well.

I do baby them in handling till I get them on the grinder. I worry about them developing a fracture and of course I always fire up the grinder and then get the hell out of it's way till it comes up to speed for a moment or two.

oldtiffie
06-26-2008, 08:32 AM
It is a wise move to test any grinding wheel for cracks or fractures before mounting the wheel and to stay clear of it as it starts and runs for a minute. It should be OK after that - until you re-mount it.

To test it for cracks etc., just hold it on a bit of steel rod and "tap/rap" it sharply at about 2 or 10 o'clock. If it "rings" it is OK, but if the response is a "thud" or none at all, just toss it out - the risk is not worth it.

Get two similar cups, saucers or plates - one cracked the other not. Tap both (don't hold in your fingers) and you will see the difference immediately.

If you "ding" a wheel even when mounted, test it again.

A flying broken grinding wheel is not something that is easily forgotten - as they can do real damage.

SGW
06-26-2008, 08:48 AM