PDA

View Full Version : Good VFD recommendation?

Doc Nickel
07-05-2008, 06:41 AM
I'm hoping to have my Nichols (http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=29473&page=3) reassembled by the end of the month, and so it's time to start thinking about a controller for the motor.

It has a 1HP 3-phase gearmotor, so I plan to use a VFD much like I did on my Sheldon. I love the capabilities of the system- speed control, soft start, etc.- but the AC tech MC1000 that came with the lathe is something like $400 or $500.

I've looked around a bit, but I'm still very new to VFDs, and not familiar with any of the manufacturers or individual models. So I'm looking for recommendations- not only of a specific model, but also a good dealer from whom to buy.

Specs: 1HP+, 240V single phase in, 240V 3-Phase out. Variable speed (frequency) and remote-mount control capable. Anything else is gravy. Cost needs to be low as possible for a good, reliable brand.

The guy that sold me the mill suggested Automation Direct, and a quick look brings up this unit (http://web1.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/AC_Drives/GS1_(120_-z-_230_VAC_V-z-Hz_Control)/GS1_Drive_Units_(120_-z-_230_VAC)/GS1-21P0). That's not bad for $125, though I'm not sure what "volts per hertz" means.

Looking up the specs for the MC1000 note it's rated for "constant torque"- is this something to look for, or do most/all VFDs do this?

Oh, and I see some models have more or less external/exposed connections, assuming it'll be mounted in an enclosure of some sort. If at all possible, I'd prefer something pretty much ready to bolt right to the wall, and take internal/protected connections.

Doc.

Ryobiguy
07-05-2008, 07:36 AM
I'm looking around for a VFD myself, and I spotted this one: http://www.wolfautomation.com/Product.aspx?ProductID=19500

$166 for 1 HP sensorless vector drive. I think that'll be hard to beat.