PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Grizzly lathe motor

davidwdyer
07-05-2008, 05:14 PM
I need some help with a grizzly lathe. I think it is a model 4,000 and is about two years old. When I switch it on, sometimes it starts up and sometimes it just growls and moves slowly. If I give it a turn with my hand, it does start and run. Sometimes, it starts on its own and sometimes I have to give it a push. Is this a capacitor problem? I confess that I have not taken it apart yet to look, but I have little experience with motors. There must be someone out there who knows a little about this.
Thank you in advance.

David

Quetico Bob
07-05-2008, 05:48 PM
yup, it needs a capacitor.
Cheers, Bob

Boomer
07-05-2008, 11:29 PM
Better get in there and tighten the screws on the terminal block before this happens...
http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=8333&highlight=grizzly+motor

AEP
07-06-2008, 03:15 AM
I think the contacts are dirty. It happens to my Jet. Motors are made in China. They are junk

airsmith282
07-06-2008, 10:40 AM