PDA

View Full Version : New to this, need help...

csmeance
07-18-2008, 12:58 PM
Hi,
I'm very new to milling and had a small project I needed to do and need help figuring it all out. Also to the moderators, sorry in advance if this is the wrong section.

I need to mill some lasercut keys into "key" cut from, and I was recommeneded to look at mini-mills for this project. Here are pictures of what I need to do:
BEFORE
http://www.flbusa.com/Before.JPG
AFTER
http://flbusa.com/After.JPG

Basically I need to cut (not sure if thats the right word) 4 slots into the keys and reduce the thickness of them about .5 milimeter.

Any help's appreciated, like I said i'm new to this. I have researched a little bit on the mills and found them from 599 to 10,000 dollars. I need to do this simple task and don't need something overkill.

Thanks
AJ

rotate
07-18-2008, 01:11 PM
Welcome to the board.

I don't recommend that you attempt to cut the key yourself for the reason that you blank which looks very expensive can easily be ruined. Even more expensive will be the lock on your car which can be damaged if the key that you machine is not a good fit. Replacing that on some vehicles can cost thousands of dollars.

Even if you are willing to take these risks, you won't be able to match the profile of the key without using a CNC and some method of importing the profile into CAD.

BTW, which car is that for?

Alistair Hosie
07-18-2008, 01:47 PM
it seems logical to me that the milling would be done prior to assembly of the plastic cover and sensitive material surrounding the key.Alistair

smiller6912
07-18-2008, 01:51 PM
If it were mine, I would farm that job out.
Definitely not a project for a newbie (unless you have a contract to do several thousand of them, then it might be worth the learning curve).

ptjw7uk
07-18-2008, 02:47 PM
I thought the key part comes apart from the plastic remote fob.