PDA

View Full Version : Shop extension progress



tiptop
07-19-2008, 12:51 AM
I got the stemwall poured today. Here are the pictiures.

West stemwall.
http://photos.imageevent.com/aatiptop/houseandshoppictures/newshopconstruction/websize/House%20and%20Shop%20004.jpg

South stemwall.
http://photos.imageevent.com/aatiptop/houseandshoppictures/newshopconstruction/websize/House%20and%20Shop%20005.jpg

East stemwall.
http://photos.imageevent.com/aatiptop/houseandshoppictures/newshopconstruction/websize/House%20and%20Shop%20006.jpg

Next post continue.

tiptop
07-19-2008, 12:52 AM
North stemwall.
http://photos.imageevent.com/aatiptop/houseandshoppictures/newshopconstruction/websize/House%20and%20Shop%20007.jpg

36" X 36" X 24" deep pad for a 3/8" X 6" diameter pipe for a jig crane and center post. The 6" slab will be poured on top with #4 bar cross hatched on 2' centers. It will have an 8' arm and will be able to pick 3 tons.
http://photos.imageevent.com/aatiptop/houseandshoppictures/newshopconstruction/websize/House%20and%20Shop%20008.jpg

Lumber package to arrive wednesday of next week. Then the fun part begins.

Jay

doctor demo
07-19-2008, 01:26 AM
North stemwall.
[36" X 36" X 24" deep pad for a 3/8" X 6" diameter pipe for a jig crane and center post. The 6" slab will be poured on top with #4 bar cross hatched on 2' centers. It will have an 8' arm and will be able to pick 3 tons.
[img]Lumber package to arrive wednesday of next week. Then the fun part begins.

Jay
Jay You shoulda planed that expansion around the class so we coulda had an old fashon barn rasing while we were there.
I did 3 cranes for a chain link fence mfr. earlier this year, 2 ton with 10' reach 360 rotation. Between the crane maker and the county bldg. dept. I had to dig a 5'x5'x 4' deep hole in hard pan for the footings. Then had two mats of steel , number 5 bar 8'' on center both ways. I think the column was 12'' or 14'' dia about 10' above finish floor. don't know what the wall thickness was, but they were heavy enough that they had to be set in place with a forklift.
Talk about running the cost of a job into a whole different tax bracket.
Makes Me wonder if Yours will work:D .
Steve

tiptop
07-19-2008, 05:25 PM
Steve,
I guess I didn't post all of my thoughts and details that I plan on using. It was past my bedtime when I wrote it. I will be using #5 bar around the crane, that is what is sticking out of the ballast pad now and probably #4 in the actual floor. The post will go up and connect to a 4" X 12" ridge beam that will be connected to my existing building. The researching I have done on the net, indicates that the manufacturers were using 2-1/2' X 2-1/2' ballast pad with a plate welded on the end of the post 2' square and gusseted, then bolted down on the surface, no top connection. They were getting 5 tons from this on a 10' arm. I think I should be able to realize 3 tons without to much problem. I do not have county or osha inspections in my shop, so when I see cracks in the cocrete, I guess I will know it is time to quit. We will all know in a couple of months. Jay

wierdscience
07-19-2008, 05:49 PM
Looking good so far,if the stiff arm column is being tied into the roof structure you should be good at 3t so long as some leg braces are tied into the roof structure from the column.

doctor demo
07-19-2008, 08:57 PM
Steve,
I guess I didn't post all of my thoughts and details that I plan on using. It was past my bedtime when I wrote it. I will be using #5 bar around the crane, that is what is sticking out of the ballast pad now and probably #4 in the actual floor. The post will go up and connect to a 4" X 12" ridge beam that will be connected to my existing building. The researching I have done on the net, indicates that the manufacturers were using 2-1/2' X 2-1/2' ballast pad with a plate welded on the end of the post 2' square and gusseted, then bolted down on the surface, no top connection. They were getting 5 tons from this on a 10' arm. I think I should be able to realize 3 tons without to much problem. I do not have county or osha inspections in my shop, so when I see cracks in the cocrete, I guess I will know it is time to quit. We will all know in a couple of months. Jay
Jay, I was not puting down Your design I was sharing with You how over bilt things tend to get when the building department gets involved. I would not be suprised if the ones I put in cuuld handle 6-8 tons safely.
Steve

pcarpenter
07-19-2008, 11:07 PM
To the rank amateur, it looks like you are have an existing shop and are getting ready to expand it by like 18" or so:D I guess I need an overview picture:D

Paul

tiptop
07-20-2008, 12:45 AM
Steve, I was not taking offense, I was just not sure if what I had said the day before made sense or not and that I was lucky to not having to be inspected. I appreciate any and all input, believe me, Thanks.

Paul here are a couple of pictures from a previous post that show what I have a little better.

This is shot from the left. The building on the left is my main shop, it is 24' X 28'. The build ing on the right is one of those temporary tin car ports. It has a gravel floor and is currently used for storage. I am taking it down and adding a regular construction type addittion to my shop

http://photos.imageevent.com/aatiptop/houseandshoppictures/newshopconstruction/websize/House%20and%20Shop%20003.JPG

Here is a shot from the other end. the new addittion will be 18' X 24' and house my Gray planer, #2 B&S horizotal miller and my 16" Gould & Eberhardt shaper, fabrication area and grinding center.

http://photos.imageevent.com/aatiptop/houseandshoppictures/newshopconstruction/websize/Copy%20of%20House%20and%20Shop%20001.jpg

Hope this helps, Jay