PDA

View Full Version : VFD or RPC?

murph64
07-21-2008, 02:26 PM
Probably the age old question...

End user in this case is a 1.5HP Fray V/H mill

http://www.jeepaholics.com/support/files/murph/20080717131049_IMG_2325b.JPG

and the operator (me) is a just about a complete newbie.

How often will I be changing speeds, such that swapping a belt becomes a PITA? Not often I'd imagine, seeing as this thing is for my own use in my single car garage.

Given a 2HP VFD and RPC to be within 25 or so clams of each other, I'm leaning towards the RPC. What's the verdict of those with more experience?

Andy

hardtail
07-21-2008, 03:10 PM
For this single machine and the VFD superior speed versatility I'd go with a VFD, this is a low hp unit and they're pretty reasonable. The guys can recommend which model Teco etc and where the deals are...probably ebay. If you think you may one day be expanding machine of more hp of similar voltage an RPC maybe the way to go.

Nice machine, did it come with tooling? What voltage is it?

andy_b
07-21-2008, 03:18 PM
hey fellow Andy!
while i love RPCs, in this case a VFD would probably be the better choice. the VFD will certainly be a benefit with regards to speed changes. do you think you'd be getting any other 3-phase equipment, or is this probably the only one? if this is it, and the costs are pretty similar, then the VFD seems like a no-brainer.

andy b.

jacampb2
07-21-2008, 03:34 PM
Hey, welcome! That is the same mill we talked about on pirate, isn't it? I'm Wicked_s10 over there.

IMO, a well built RPC is the way to go. You can run several machines when you get them, and trust me, you'll get them, and you can always run a VFD off the RPC if you want that luxury. You have to keep in mind that most of the controls in the machine may run on single phase from the 3 phase inputs. Contactors and transformers inside the machine are not going to like the VFD output much, if at all.