PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Bridgeport Way Wipers. Pics

miker
07-29-2008, 10:53 PM
The 1939 Fray/Bridgeport I am refurbishing has Way Wipers mounted on each side at the Rear of the Knee. These wipers clean the Vertical Dovetail of the Column.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v448/mikerr/P7300006.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v448/mikerr/P7300004.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v448/mikerr/P7300003.jpg

The felt is not just a flat piece, but seems to be a moulding of felt which fits into the holder. Quite thick on one end.
They may also be glued in but one came away after soaking in petrol/gasoline.

Has anyone replaced these? Made them yourself or purchased as a spare part.?
All the other wipers I can just make up out of some suitable flat material.
Any help would be appreciated as I have come to a dead halt here.

Rgds

Ryobiguy
07-29-2008, 11:56 PM
I'm no expert, but it looks like you could get some felt of the same thickness and carefully cut it to the same shape, except leaving just a tiny bit more sticking out on the business end to allow it to break-in and compact. Seems like it could be tricky to shape it just right so the felt compacts evenly across the way.

I bet it would stay in there just fine without glue.

-Matt

Fasttrack
07-30-2008, 12:35 AM
The wipers on my Pacemakers are all made out of duprene, and the guy I bought them from replaced the wipers on his Tree CNC mill with rubber as well. He got a torn mud flap from a semi truck and used it. Just something to think about. You can cut and sand it to the desired shape and it does a good job as a wiper.

Alan in Oz
07-30-2008, 09:17 AM
Miker,
I had luck finding a felt supplier here in Perth (some time ago now) for way wiper material, I'm sure you would have similar on your side, otherwise a piano repair shop would be a good place to also try. Some "felt" material I've seen is synthetic which does not appear to be as good.

38_Cal
07-30-2008, 09:26 AM