PDA

View Full Version : Drilling a 1911 slide

deanhead
08-01-2008, 11:26 PM
Hi All,
Been lurking here off and on....great group!
Time to ask a question!
Need advise on how the drill the deep holes on a 1911 slide for the extractor and firing pin without the drill wondering off center.
Any help would be greatly apriciated.
Thanks
Dean

Fasttrack
08-01-2008, 11:29 PM
Peck drilling and flood coolant to remove chips? Start with a spot drill, then drill with a screw-machine length drill if possible. Finish with a reamer for exact size.

That is how I would *try* it. I'm no expert!

p.s. Welcome aboard!

Rustybolt
08-02-2008, 06:44 AM
This is something I'd do in a mill. Make sure the work is exactly in line with the spindle. The drill has to be sharp and ground even. If in doubt , use a new drill.The biggest reason holes wander is improperly ground drills, or dull drills. Center drill first. Center drill first. Like fast said, peck drill, clearing the chips as you go. use plenty of oil and Do Not crowd the drill.The second biggest reason holes wander is a rushed job, patience is the key here. If you're going to ream the hole, use a drill .010 smaller than the finished hole size. Don't crowd the reamer either and use plenty of oil there too.

Rustybolt
08-02-2008, 06:46 AM
Work alignment and center drilling are important. Can't stress that enough. If done right the drill will always follow the center.

Chipslinger
08-02-2008, 07:20 AM
Excelent advice .

Perhaps this will be a better place to ask.

http://www.homegunsmith.com/cgi-bin/ib3/ikonboard.cgi?

IIRC it is a .207 - .210 hole thru.

Steve Steven
08-02-2008, 11:05 AM
Finished Colt slides are HARD. Is this an unfinished one, still soft? If so, you can do it. No real need to harden it, many WWII slides weren/t hardened. Do you have a drawing to follow, as the holes may be shaped or of different diameters inside.

Steve

Chipslinger
08-02-2008, 11:18 AM