PDA

View Full Version : OT/Why does my backhoe think it's a hydraulic jack??

torker
10-06-2008, 10:09 PM
OK...Hydraulic guys again...LOL!
I haven't a clue...
The only way I can get the main stick to raise up (Cylinder pulling) is to pump the control like a bottle jack. It will only raise in short bursts.... about 1/4" of the rod comes in for each "pump" of the handle.
Everything else works fine...with lots of power even at idle.
So "what's up hydro docs"?
Thanks!
Russ

garyphansen
10-06-2008, 10:25 PM
Russ: I am no expert but I would guess that you have air in your lines. Gary P. Hansen

Dawai
10-06-2008, 10:26 PM
Dirty spool valve...

I was using a New Holland, (rental) and the spool kept sticking..

Had a buddy who could really dig sitting on it digging my basement.. it stuck.. knocked the air conditioner right out of the window on the house.. He was near-heart attack.. pale.. I reassured him I would have torn the corner of the house off..

*a guy got buried in a ditch bank cave in.. Mr Green dug with the backhoe till he saw his shirt.. Saved the guys life.. he was the best I have ever saw.. Anyways, he did in a day what I could have in a week and half. *He's deceased now.. A really nice guy I miss a lot.. The guy who got buried, he got out of the ditch, quit work.. had a lil apron and a pair of scissors the next time I saw him.

wierdscience
10-06-2008, 10:31 PM
I haven't a clue...
The only way I can get the main stick to raise up (Cylinder pulling) is to pump the control like a bottle jack. It will only raise in short bursts.... about 1/4" of the rod comes in for each "pump" of the handle.
Thanks!
Russ

Will it develope any power while doing this?And will it hold position?

If not you may have a cut packing on the piston.

Tim Clarke
10-06-2008, 10:59 PM