PDA

View Full Version : Trouble at the mill...

Benjamin Borowsky
07-19-2003, 04:15 PM
Oh, dear, what kind of trouble?

Something's gone askew on the treddle.

What's that mean?

I don't know, I was just told to come in here and say "Something's gone askew on the treddle", I didn't expect the Spanish Inquisition!

Sorry, I couldn't resist it. I've been struggling/fighting with my new Sherline 2000 mill, and it's winning.

As I'm completely new to this, I don't know which variable(s) I've got set wrong. What am I trying to do?

Bore a 3/4" hole 1" deep (a through hole) in 1018 CRS. I first drilled the hole through with a starter drill, then three progressively larger drills until it was 3/8" wide. So far, so good.

Then I moved to the sherline boring head, with the sherline boring cutter. I set it for a .05" cut, set the speed to 500 rpm, and went on my way. I'm getting chatter, grinding, stalling, smoke, and shuddering of the mill.

Obviously, not all simultaneously, but still, it's a bit disconcerting. I've changed speed from about 100 to 1000 rpm. I've reduced the depth of the cut down to about .01", and up to about .08". I've varied speed from glacial to obviously too fast.

As best as I can tell, the small cuts chatter, and the large cuts dig in, stall, and move the table over. This table movement obviosly exacerbates the problem, leading to a vicious loop wherein I have to storm upstairs and ask for advice.

HELP!

B2

shorty
07-19-2003, 04:37 PM
I'm not familiar with milling machines but we a have a key cutter at work and if everything isn't tightened down well we end up with the same kinda things happening as what's happening to you, the bit will actually wander off line if you feed it too fast and somethings loose, otherwise it just chatters. If the bits not sharp the same kinda thing can happen as well.....just a thought....

SGW
07-19-2003, 06:36 PM