PDA

View Full Version : Mig beads

Mcgyver
12-07-2008, 10:30 AM
I finally picked up a nice little 220V mig welder.

whats making me crazy though is the beads. seems no matter what i do a get a big bead proud of the work. I started with Lincolns recommended settings and varied it a bit but not luck. I was in a plant the other day with a robotic mig welder and saw the same thing....most of a semi circle bead sitting proud of the 11 gauge they'd welding.....yet I'm sure I've seen nice flat scallop mig beads before :confused: :confused:

I had to weld some 1" sq 1/16 tubing the other day. @#$@# the Mig welding; I grabbed the O/A rig....at least with it I can get a good weld that is pretty flat and doesn't take a half a day of messy grinding. Disadvantage though is more heat is pumped into the work so i worry about warp and it takes longer...so I'd rather Mig if i can figure it out

is this just the nature of the beast, or what should look to to get a better result? I'm new at the Mig welding so hopefully its something simple/common/easy to fix that I'm doing wrong

torker
12-07-2008, 11:21 AM
If your beads are too ropey...you have too much wire feed for the heat setting...or you are traveling too slow.
If you are pulling the gun...the beads also tend to rope up.
Flatter beads are easier when you push the gun..
Ropey beads (or poor wetting in the edges) can also be caused by welding on cold metal with mickey wire.
Make a pass on cold metal...then run a bead that half overlaps the first and you'll see what i mean. The last bead should always be flatter. It's the heat that helps it flow out.
Also...too much wire stickout will cause ropey welds..

macona
12-07-2008, 06:48 PM
Also check your polarity. If the machine was used for flux core it may still be set for that. It will still weld but you will never find a good wire speed/voltage combination to make it run right.

Or are you even running hard wire and gas?

What machine?