PDA

View Full Version : Aluminum Dust, Blow me Up, Scotty? Yep

Hollowbuilt
12-17-2008, 01:56 AM
30 years ago I bought some epoxy mold making equipment. Along with it came a small steel barrel of Alcoa powdered aluminum. About 100 pounds originally, with half of it remaining. The project didn't work out. But like a pack rat, I kept some of the equipment. Including the barrel of aluminum powder.

It ended up in the "bone yard" at my shop. By then I had been dragging it around for about 15 years. It had a heavy steel lid with an even heavier steel locking ring closure. On tight.

So one day my partner walks up to me and says, "Hey, you know that little steel barrel you got outside? Well, it's got steam coming out of it, and the side of the drum is hot!" "What the hell you got in there?"

I went outside and yep, there was smoke or steam or whatever coming out of a small gash in the lid. (Gash? Yea. And I have NO idea when that happened!) And the sides were warm. Crap. What to do.

I was hesitant to call the Fire Department. Lots of friends in the Fire Department. And I knew what could happen. EPA, OSHA, CIA, FBI, IRS....so I decided to "manage it in place".

I grabbed one of the guys working in the shop and told him to fill it up with water...put the water through the gash in the lid. He came into the office to say that he had put water in the barrel and was now ready to help me with whatever else I needed.

The two of us went out and took a couple of wrenches to loosen the bolt holding the locking ring. Bolt was frozen. Wouldn't budge.

So we used a die grinder with a cutting wheel on it. Just direct the cut so that the sparks don't go over the gash in the lid. That still had smoke coming out of it.

Was going just fine until the cutting wheel grabbed a little. Shifting the sparks over the gash in the lid.