PDA

View Full Version : Sitting at the table........

HarryG
12-20-2008, 11:05 PM
Newby here, first welding post!

My Lincoln AC/DC “buzz-box” is mounted on a portable table that's based on a semi-live skid with angle iron frame, etc., and I've always just stood next to the table to weld.

I picked up a book a couple days ago (Motorbooks Workshop, “How to Weld” by Todd Bridigum, 2008). The author comments in several sections of this book, “Before you start welding, get comfortable”. Getting comfortable includes sitting on a stool or chair and resting one of your elbows on the table.

It obviously works for the author, but also flies in the face of the safety rules I've seen in the basic “how to get started” welding books and pamphlets: “Don't rest any parts of your body on the workpiece...”

I'm self-taught and don't weld every day; in fact, I may go several weeks or more without going near the welder. So, I'm curious about the guys on here who have much more experience than me - do you sit down and rest your elbows on the table while arc welding?

Lu47Dan
12-20-2008, 11:16 PM
Harry , the do not rest any parts of your body on the work piece statement is a CYA statement for sure . I am a steamfitter , plumber and a welder in my real life , I have had to lay down on the pipe I was welding to get to some of the welds I have done . But being comfortable when welding is the best advice , If you are uncomfortable it leads to the shakes or fatigue then your welds will suffer for it . Being uncomfortable also leads to diminished desire to practice and welding proficiently takes practice . JMTC Dan

torker
12-21-2008, 12:01 AM
Sitting down while arc welding can be REAL uncomfortable....when the sizzlers fly off the table and land in your lap. But...if you can avoid that...then it is better to be comfortable. BTW..I almost ALWAYS anchor my left elbow someplace while welding....and it's usually on the workpiece.