PDA

View Full Version : Need a Rockwell 14" lathe belt

texas_po_boy
12-24-2008, 06:32 PM
Just got a 14" Rockwell lathe and the belt squeals bad and there is no more adjustment left. Anybody know where a person could pick one up ? Thanks

portlandRon
12-24-2008, 07:17 PM
Get one of the "link" type. I have been using one on my Clausing for over 20 years and had no problem with it. The best thing is you don't have to remove the spindle to put on the new belt.

garyphansen
12-24-2008, 08:30 PM
If your lathe uses V belts do as the previous post said, get a linked belt. If your lathe uses flat belts replace them with an auto serpentine belt. They work far better than anything else! (I think it was Evan's idea to starte with) They can be glued, laced or clipped together with belt clips. I will go looking for a photo. Gary P. Hansen

garyphansen
12-24-2008, 08:33 PM
Here is a photo of one spliced with belt clips. It is only a 3/4" belt but has far mor traction than the 2.5" lathe belt it replaced. Gary P. Hansen
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v371/garyphansen/IM000002.jpg

garyphansen
12-24-2008, 08:35 PM
Here is one I laced together with braded fishing wire. Gary P. Hansen
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v371/garyphansen/IM000606.jpg

gzig5
12-24-2008, 10:56 PM