PDA

View Full Version : Looking for DRO for Mill Drill

44-henry
12-28-2008, 12:53 AM
A few years back I purchased a used Jet 15 mill/drill and I would now like to get a DRO for it. I've had some experience with the Shooting Star digital readouts and like them; however, the $500+ price tag seems a bit out of line on a mill that I only paid $200 for to begin with. Other than just living with the dials (which are metric) are there any other more affordable options to go with?

SGW
12-28-2008, 09:59 AM
This might be a cheaper option: http://www.shumatech.com/

An even cheaper option:
One thing I did, prior to getting a DRO, was mount a scale graduated in tenths of an inch along the front of the table with a pointer on the saddle that could be shifted left/right by a bit over an inch so I could "zero" it on a value. This was strictly relative; if I had to move 3.5", I might be starting at 12 and going to 15.5 on the scale, but what it did was lessen the need to be so careful counting handwheel rotations and made the use of the dials more convenient.
www.reidtool.com sells a stick-on measuring tape graduated in tenths of an inch that I used. I think they may have a metric version as well.
It's not a DRO, but it helps, and it's cheap to do.

John Stevenson
12-28-2008, 10:05 AM
A few years back I purchased a used Jet 15 mill/drill and I would now like to get a DRO for it. I've had some experience with the Shooting Star digital readouts and like them; however, the $500+ price tag seems a bit out of line on a mill that I only paid $200 for to begin with. Other than just living with the dials (which are metric) are there any other more affordable options to go with?

So if you had got the mill for free would you expect all your accessories and tooling for free ?

Sorry but I can't see that reasoning, why not look at it as "well I got a god deal on the mill and by the time I have fitted XYZ I will have a better deal "

I'll bet you are not driving a $200 vehicle ?