PDA

View Full Version : grizzly anyone

fullsizejohn
12-31-2008, 08:56 PM
Hey all,
First post here.
Not gonna ask the same question,"How do you like your Grizzly Lathe?" but I would like to put my hands on one.
Quick overview: I am a USNAVY trained machinist. Obviously the equipment we had was top notch,Leblond, Cincinatti, Wells Index,Clausing etc. Then I worked in another shop for about 8 years and we also had good equipment.
Since I changed careers a few years back i really find myself missing machine work. I am in the market for a small lathe 12x36 neighborhood. So Ive never ran or even been around one of the chinese lathes. Would like to see one in person before i commit to an order. Anyone in the central VIRGINIA area have a grizzly lathe i could drop by and see?

Teenage_Machinist
12-31-2008, 09:07 PM
I do not have a griz nor am I any where near you, but would share some things

Note One: The differrent lathes are often completely identical.
Note Two: Grizzly has better fit and finish than some other importers, even for identical machines, and has better manuals.
Note Three: Accuracy is often good. De burring and torquing are sometimes neglected. Dissassembly may be helpful.

wierdscience
12-31-2008, 09:55 PM
Hi,first let me say welcome!

I don't have a Grizzly lathe,but I do have a few pieces of their woodworking equipment of which I am happy.

They do carry a good supply of parts for their machines which is a plus.

Fasttrack
12-31-2008, 10:51 PM
I just have to put in a plug for buying used. You've run these machines and know what a good machine is, so why not see about finding a 12"-16" used lathe. You can go and inspect and, if your lucky, probably buy twice the quality that you could buy at grizzly for the same price.

Sparky_NY
01-01-2009, 11:28 AM
It may have changed but grizzly used to supply customer referrals to owners of their equipment on request. I quick call to them would see if this service is still offered.

PaulT
01-01-2009, 01:59 PM