X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Derek13
    • Aug 2003

Speeds and Feeds

I'm a newbie (working in a shop, but not an apprentice yet) and am wondering if there is either a website, or a handbook that has all the speeds and feeds for milling, drilling, late turning etc, for all the different kinds of metals.

I know the basic forumula is CSx4/diameter of cutter, but would like a chart especially for drilling (well for all of them really).

Also does the rpm and feed depend on the size of cut your taking? (ie a .080 cut vs a .010 cut)

Any websites or books to reccomend would be helpful. Thanks!
  • G.A. Ewen
    • Mar 2003

Hi there, try "shopswarf" on your search engine.
    To invent, you need a good imagination - and a pile of junk. Thomas A. Edison

Comment

• WJHartson
      • Oct 2002

Derek13,

Here is the link to shopswarf.

Joe

Comment

• Thrud
        • Mar 2001

Derek13:
        Cutting rates depend on the material and its brinell hardness as a rule. Harder, tougher materials will require slower cutting speeds (SFM - surface feet/minute)

Then you have:
        DOC (Depth of cut)

Feedrate (normalliy inches per minute or ipm)

MRR (metal removal rate - normally in cubic inches per minute)

FPT (feed per tooth - in the home shop this is usually in the .ooo5-.oo6" range per tooth)

WOC (width of cut)

HP factor (normally the machinability rating of the material i.e, 12L14 = 1.0, Alunimum = 3.0)

To determine the amout of horsepower required you use MRR /HP factor = HP required

All of these are used to determine the optimum initial settings - although they frequently require "tweeking" under actual cutting conditions as edge condition of the tool must also be considered.

Another point to mention is that carbide tooling can/should be run about 4 times faster than you would use HSS cutting edges in general. Carbide works best when pushed as hard as possible and run dry (no coolant).