PDA

View Full Version : Collets

patty boy
01-02-2009, 01:06 AM
I have very little experience using collets in either a lathe or milling machine. I have two questions:

1. Can regular 5C or R8 collets successfully hold a drill? This assumes the collet matches the drill size. Or will the drill slip? Same question for holding a straight-shank boring tool?

2. Are conventional collets preferred (though it takes a lot of them), or would I be better advised to invest in a set of expanding collets (and holder) such as the ER ones?

TGTool
01-02-2009, 01:32 AM
1. Yes, you can hold a drill in either of the collets and ditto for a boring bar. Both these collet series are sensitive to size, so a drill larger or smaller than nominal will not be held as accurately or tightly.

2. This question is a matter of great debate and you may have inadvertently removed the lid from this can of worms (again). In my opinion, the ER series is nice because of the good grip over a range of sizes. On the other hand, 5C collets are so prevalent that they can be bought less expensively.

Expanding collets are different, in that they're intended to grip on the ID of a a part to be machined. These are also much more available for the 5C series than others. For special needs, soft collets can be had which are then machined as required like soft jaws on lathe chucks.

Paul Alciatore
01-02-2009, 03:01 AM
The best solution is what is best for you.

R8 collets are commonly used in smaller milling machines. Milling cutters generally come in a limited range of shank sizes so a set of collets by 1/16s or even by 1/8s would be good for most cutters you are likely to use. I believe even most metric sized cutters are available with fractional inch sized shanks.